Nitro Cold Brew

The coffee industry has recently introducing a new drink that is greatly unique and is a must try. Nitro cold brew is an iced coffee on tap. Coffee connoisseurs have been going crazy over this new dynamic coffee drink. It all started in a coffee shop called ‘The Queens Kickshaw’ in Astoria, New York City. They came up with the idea to put the cold brew through one of their beer taps. I actually know exactly where this coffee shop is because when I was in New York last summer I was staying right down the street. I never made my way into ‘The Queens Kickshaw’ because I had made friends with the owners of another coffee shop right down the street and would go there everyday instead. Little did I know at the time that the coffee shop I passed everyday and never walked into played a part in coffee shop history. Looking back I really wish I had walked into that coffee shop and tried a cup while I had the chance.

 Nitro coffee is made the same way a craft beer would be made. This allows the coffee to be made and stored in kegs. This coffee is also available in cans. When the coffee is served it is served cold on tap with a foamy top. Since it comes straight from the tap it is already cold and there is no need for any ice. This is beneficial because there is no ice to water down the drink and you get more coffee because the ice doesn’t take up any space. This coffee is specifically treated with nitrogen and is why it has been called nitro cold brew. This new and innovative way to make coffee is becoming more available. Some Starbucks are going to be serving Nitro Cold Brew and you can find it at certain establishments that serve coffee, but it is not always easy to find.

 

Leave a comment